top of page

Keller's Drive In


Image source: http://res.dallasnews.com/interactives/kellers/images/kellerSky1800.jpg

If you are looking for some mouth-watering food that you can have conveniently placed on your cars window; then look no further than Keller’s Drive In! This place seriously make you feel like you hopped in a time machine and jumped back to the 50’s. I know what you’re probably thinking, “that sounds just like Sonic”……well let me just say, you would be horribly horribly wrong with that assessment.

It really is the only restaurant of it’s kind, and the fact that it’s been running consistently for the last 51 years shows that they’re good at what they do. Judging it simply off it’s appearance, Keller’s might look like a whole lot, but to me that’s really what gives it character and makes it different than all the other places you see today. It just looks like an old-school burger joint, and I guess that is pretty much what it is but the food is made with quality and the whole experience from the time you pull in and place your order to the time you take off, this place is simply a memorable experience that I always look forward to.

The menu isn’t huge, but I think most people would agree that you go with quality over quantity. When I go to a place and order a burger, your expectations are usually that the one you get looks just as delicious as the one on the menu….sadly a lot of the time this isn’t the case. However, Keller’s won’t get your hopes up and I can attest to this as every time I have gone there and ordered a burger, the patties are thick and never dry. Some of the other items on the menu are corn dogs, hot dogs, chili dogs, chicken sandwiches, steak, ham sandwich, and of course the grilled cheese. One little twist that I enjoy is the buns here are covered with poppy seeds to give it an extra flare. As if this wasn’t enough, the cherry on top is that they serve cold refreshing beer and bring it right out to your car with your food. My first time I went, I was caught completely off guard by this but now it’s just routine to order an ice cold beer with my meal while sitting in the car listening to some good tunes.

If you’re looking for a nostalgic place, that’s family owned and cooks some of the tastiest and cheaply priced food around, than you’ve got to stop by and try out Keller’s Drive In . One word of advice I would give you is to make sure you stop by an ATM before you stop by as Keller’s is unfortunately a cash only establishment.

Photo sources: https://assets3.thrillist.com/v1/image/1872954/size/tmg-gift_guide_default;jpeg_quality=20.jpg

https://directory.dmagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/kellers-drive-in.jpg

Source: https://www.thrillist.com/eat/dallas/kellers-drive-in-review-drive-in-restaurants


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page